If it sounds good, eat it

Posted: May 12, 2012 in Survival Strategy
Tags: , , , , , , , , ,
An assortment of Jolly Rancher candies

An assortment of Jolly Rancher candies (Photo credit: Wikipedia)

Let’s face it– nothing sounds good right now. The act of eating, a combination of smells and tastes, has become one of the most dreaded events of your day. Even the brat diet (bananas, rice, applesauce, toast), the “sure-fire prescription for nausea” fails to entice you. Added to this unpleasant existence is the internal pressure you feel to nourish the unborn little one sitting snugly on your bladder.

What do you do? Give yourself permission to eat anything that sounds good. When I was at my worst, about two months pregnant, I went through a week where the only thing I could keep down was Pringles, V-8, and sour Jolly Ranchers. More important than doing pregnancy yoga, eating only organic food you’ve grown yourself, and downing those horse-sized prenatals is getting something in your system.

Every person in the medical field I spoke with reassured me that the baby was getting the nutrients he needed from me. All I had to do was rest, stay hydrated (one of the toughest challenges hg’ers face), and eat whatever I could. I did my best, most of what I tried to keep down came back up, but the doctors were right: I gave birth to a healthy 8 pound, 5 ounce baby boy.

Always, always, always, listen to what your doctor says. Do what’s best for you and your child. And if the only thing you can keep down right now is a variety of junk food, so be it.

Fight the fight, my hg mamas.

P.S. What foods can you keep down? Share your stories of sickness in a comment below.

Comments
  1. Tamarhgmama says:

    Ugh food! An HG mamas Nemesis…it consumes your every thought, but thinking about can induce vomiting. From months 3-6 I “survived” off of cucumbers. Sometimes I could eat a bit of hot and sour soup although 90% of the time I regretted it. From month 6 until delivery I could eat soft taco sized vegetarian refried bean burritos…blah! Just thinking about them now makes my stomach turn, but for three months they kept us alive.
    I agree forget everything you’ve learned and heard about the right diet. HG changes the game drastically and eating for survival becomes the goal.

    • hgsurvivor says:

      Cucumbers sound like such a soothing food. I’m glad you were able to find something that worked for you. It’s amazing how women with hg are able to survive, but even more amazing to me is how our babies are able to get what they need from our bodies. Such a miracle!

      • Tamarhgmama says:

        They are cold and relatively tasteless. I think that’s why I could tolerate them. I’ve always loved them…but I don’t think I’ll ever eat them again 😦

        I agree 100% what we endure to get our babies here is nothing short of amazing. HG mamas and babies are so strong!

  2. Jude Posik says:

    Good site, thanks for share this article with us

Leave a Reply

