Kathryn Janeway

Kathryn Janeway (Photo credit: Wikipedia)

We’ve all heard the phrase “too much television will rot your brain.” But right now, tv may be all you have, a thin thread connecting you to the outside world.

My advice? Embrace it. Avoid food shows, commercials that advertise food, or anything else related to the consuming of nutrients. It will only make you sick. Instead, dive into a series you’ve always wanted to see. This is the one time in your life when you can allow yourself the luxury of being a complete couch potato.
Much of my eight months of nausea was spent in bed, laptop on the nightstand, old episodes of Star Trek: Voyager playing away. I watched all seven seasons of the show. Let’s see… at about twenty episodes per season… that’s a lot of Captain Janeway.

As embarrassed as I am to admit that I escaped to the Delta quadrant for so long, I’m glad to share if it helps someone else slog through another day.

So go ahead– visit that strange island from Lost, save the country with Jack Bauer, or go for the gold and start with the 1937 episode of Guiding Light. Getting your mind off how crappy you feel just might help you survive to fight another day.

P.S. What’s in your Netfilx queue? Share what you’re watching with a comment below.

Comments
  1. zofranaddict says:

    I watched a lot until I got too sick of movies/tv series. I watched this documentary and found it encouraging and inspiring. http://www.ridethedividemovie.com/ It is (or at least was) an instant watch on Netflix a few months back.

  2. hgsurvivor says:

    Great viewing suggestion zofranaddict. I watched the trailer and it looks really inspiring. One biker mentioned that their journey was the equivalent of climbing Mount Everest seven times– my hg experience felt just as tough. Thanks for sharing!

  3. zofranaddict says:

    I loved how much I could relate to a few of the competitors. They have a choice to quit -we don’t (really) but in so many ways it’s such a similar struggle. A whole lot of determination, guts and refusal to to give up. And if nothing else lots of gorgeous scenery to distract an HGer for a while.

    • hgsurvivor says:

      What you say makes total sense. While we don’t really have the choice to quit, there’s a mental battle that goes on that’s probably pretty similar to any athlete.

  4. HGTrekkie says:

    only voyager? During HG i watched all of voyager, tng, ds9, tos, and enterprise. 24 seasons in total… Plus all the extras. It was a great distraction show.

    • hgsurvivor says:

      HGTrekkie, you rock! I agree- Star Trek is a wonderful distraction. I’m currently watching DS9. While I was sick I bounced back and forth between many different shows, from Murder She Wrote to The Walking Dead. Whatever I could handle at that moment. Thanks for sharing!

  5. Tamarhgmama says:

    I love Lucy! Every episode…twice! No color, flashing, or crazy camera movements 🙂 the perfect HG show. Plus Lucille Ball is hilarious!

Leave a Reply

