Chicken soup ain’t gonna cure this…

Posted: May 15, 2012 in Health
Tags: , , , , , , , ,
Chicken soup is a common classic comfort food ...

Chicken soup is a common classic comfort food that might be found across cultures. (Photo credit: Wikipedia)

As I struggle to swallow because of a post-nasal drip induced sore throat, I’m tempted to wallow in self-pity. I’ve got a four-month old, I can’t be sick! What am I going to do? Yet almost immediately, the small voice of gratitude deep inside of me chimes in, crying “knock it off– at least you’re not throwing up ten times a day!”

And that voice is right. Before I had hg, I was a big baby about sickness. I wanted to be coddled, fussed over, and treated extra-special kind. No matter how teeny the physical discomfort- a stubbed toe, a stuffy nose, or even a headache- I let everyone know how I was feeling. And then I was given the most persistent case of what felt like the stomach flu, food poisoning, and pregnancy ever known to human kind: hg.

After a few months, I accepted that there was nothing I could do to get rid of the persistent nausea and vomiting that had become my life. It was then that I grew from a baby to a teenager. I stopped whining (well, stopped whining as much) and tried to be brave. I was in a war, fighting for my unborn son. I can’t say that I’m an adult regarding getting sick. I still want attention when I have the sniffles. But now I have a better perspective.

So while I’m making hound-dog eyes at my husband, waiting for him to offer to make me peppermint tea and deliver it to me in bed, I want you to know that I’m in your corner. As far as I’m concerned, a little sinus and sore throat pain ain’t got nothin’ on hg.

P.S. Are you as much of a baby as I am when it comes to sickness or do you tough it out without complaint? I’d really like to know. Post a comment below and share with your hg sisters in suffering.

Comments
  1. Tamarhgmama says:

    Since having kids I’m not as much of a baby…but I still want a little tlc. Of course of the sniffles or whatever else bring on a little nausea and I start freaking I expect to be coddled like a newborn!

    A funny (well kinda) story about chicken soup…
    My mother is a nurse. She is an ER nurse she knows what HG is, she’s treated tons of women. She is the last person to try and suggest crackers or gingerale.
    When I was 16 weeks I got my first picc line. My mom flew up to be with me and to help out. She was devastated when she saw me. I looked awful, was so sick, etc and while she knew this she hadn’t seen me. Now rationally She knows what I need, how to medically take care of me, but she’s also my mommy….and we’re Jewish….so she did what any good Ima would do, she made matzos ball soup. She wanted me to just try it. So to appease her I did. Lets just say I may not eat matzah ball soup again…she felt so awful and kept apologizing and saying I knew it wouldn’t work, but I had to do something! I’m Jewish, someone’s sick, you make soup! I love my mom and I appreciated the gesture because She was at as much of a loss as the rest of us were.

  2. Marv says:

    I’m a huge baby when I get sick. I’m also a major crouch!!! HG does put things in perspective. I thank god it is only temporary. I cannont imagine struggling with such a debilitating disease for the rest of my life!

  3. Brooke says:

    Lol at the soup comments. Ur mum is so good! I actually became a total sook with illness more now than I was before hg. I guess it left me with anxiety so now I hyperventilate and panic as soon as I have a slight discomfort anywhere from a sore tummy to a cold. Hope it improves as time passes. Wish it was same as u tho!

  4. Ashley Z. says:

    overall, i liked being babied when i lived at home and expected more of my husband when i had hg- however, there was really not much he could do for me as i layed in bed all day- he got me what i asked for*shrugs*..and the smell of him made me sick(although he wasnt smelly).. but i did not complain to hardly anyone that pregnancy- now that im not pregnant advocating for hg..i am a complainer again hahaha..and any little sickness makes me boo hoo at myself, thankful its not hg but thinking” oh come on i already went through hg cut me a break!”

    • hgsurvivor says:

      Hi Ashley, thanks for posting. I can totally relate– I have a sinus infection and while part of me is thinking “at least I’m not puking all day,” another part is whining and wanting attention. I’m glad I’m not alone!

  5. Johnson Brandly says:

    antihistamines do work for my post nasal drip but i am still looking for a good natural antihistamines that works like Chlorphenamine and Hydroxyzine.’

    Please do take a look at this useful blog
    http://www.healthmedicinelab.com/what-causes-yeast-infections/

Leave a Reply

