The Chuck Norris of Babies

Posted: May 20, 2012 in Survival Strategy
Tags: , , , , , , ,
Deutsch: Chuck Norris

Deutsch: Chuck Norris (Photo credit: Wikipedia)

As my little one was playing on the tummy-time mat on our bed this morning, he kicked a hanging toy with such force that my husband said, “Wow, you’re the Chuck Norris of babies. Do it again!” It is during these happy times that I reconnect with the illness I experienced last year and think, yea- it was worth it.

That doesn’t mean I don’t recall the tough times. I remember subsisting on two spoonfuls of cream of wheat, applesauce laced with antiemetic meds, and ice cubes. It was around this time last year that I just began experiencing the symptoms of what would turn out to be hg. If I had known how hard it would have been, I’m honestly not sure I would have chosen to travel the rocky road an hg pregnancy requires. Yet had I not fought (on many days very reluctantly), to keep hydrated and nourished, I wouldn’t have experienced a joy I never knew existed.

So let me encourage you. You’re down, you’re sick, you want to give up. It doesn’t matter if you’re four weeks pregnant or thirty-eight weeks gone, one more day seems like twenty climbs up Mount Everest. You know life will be fantastic once the baby comes– you just can’t connect with those emotions enough to really believe it. When you’re there, at your darkest moment, you need to make a choice. You need to chose to keep going despite what you feel. It’s easier said than done. It’s not fun. But you can do it. You will do it. You don’t have to be happy about it. You just have to keep going.

And to help distract you from the sickness, here are some truths about Chuck Norris (and my baby) from the Chuck Norris Facts website:

  • There used to be a street named after Chuck Norris, but it was changed because nobody crosses Chuck Norris and lives.
  • Some magicians can swim through water. Chuck Norris can swim through land.
  • When Chuck Norris does a push up, he isn’t lifting himself up. He’s pushing the Earth down.
  • Chuck Norris can choke a man with the cable of a wireless phone.

P.S. Have you ever had to choose to do something very difficult? Share how you won the battle over your emotions by posting a comment below.

Comments
  1. Tamarhgmama says:

    Lol love this. Your blog is so inspiring, even post HG. Thank you for writing this.

Leave a Reply

