Vrouwelijke bokskampioen / Female boxing champion

Vrouwelijke bokskampioen / Female boxing champion (Photo credit: Nationaal Archief)

It’s rough. You are so nauseous. You can’t imagine life without the sick feeling that clings to you like plastic wrap. The house is a mess. The kids don’t have your attention. Your husband is overworked. Thanks to the zofran,

which you can’t really afford, you’re more constipated than you ever thought imaginable. It’s incredibly tempting to give up, to let the desperation overwhelm you. But you need to hold on.

You need to be there, in the moment, feeling the sick and fighting the despair. Because while this moment feels like it will last an eternity, it will pass. And what you do in this moment will define you in ways that impact your future. Someday you’ll face another moment, perhaps even more difficult than this one. If you don’t give up, if you keep on fighting, you will build strength. And that strength will become a reserve upon which you can draw in the future.

So hold on, my brave hg mamas.

When I’m depressed, I often recall the chorus of the song Hold On, by Good Charlotte:

Hold on, when you feel like letting go
Hold on, it gets better than you know

While these lyrics are not about hg, they do relate. The joy of having a child is much better than I ever could have known. When I was expecting, there were days when the sickness was so bad that I did give up and allowed despair and fear to overwhelm me. I don’t want that for you. Giving up never made me feel better, and it did nothing to strengthen my character.But on the days when I was able to fight, I deposited strength that I’m now able to draw from on a daily basis. Strength I need to help me keep moving, to keep pressing on.

So today, just for this moment, hold on, dear friends. It gets better than you know.

Leave a Reply

