Tapping a Vein of Strength

Posted: May 26, 2012 in Survival Strategy
Tags: , , , , , , ,
Bruising three days after giving blood

Bruising three days after giving blood (Photo credit: Wikipedia)

I’ve never been good at giving blood. It’s ridiculously difficult for someone to find my veins, so you can imagine the agony I experienced when I had hg.

The first time I was rushed to the emergency room I was severely dehydrated. I had lost about 15 pounds in two weeks and just didn’t know what was going on. I was sick, scared, and unable to really function. A home health-care nurse had visited earlier that day to set up an iv and a zofran pump. She tried three times, but couldn’t get the iv connected to my vein.

Later that evening, my ob called and told me to go to the er. Apparently my keytone level was really off and I needed two bags of fluid pumped into me intravenously. I knew it would be a painful experience, but I was unprepared for just how painful it was.

It took three hours, two nurses, a doctor, and a paramedic over twelve pokes in my hands and arms to finally find a vein. The drew blood and then connected the iv. By the time they were finished, I was unable to control my body from shaking. I wasn’t having a seizure, I just couldn’t handle the anguish of the stabs and prodding of needles anymore.

As I think back on that night, I don’t credit myself with having any strength at all. I was miserable. I wasn’t in control of my body. I cried.

But I didn’t give up. I endured what needed to be done, as painful as it was. And you can endure it, too, dear hg mama. No matter what you’re facing right now– a medicine pump, a PICC line, another round of vomiting– you can handle it. Coping with hg is not easy, it’s never fun, and it’s quite often painful. But most of the struggle is simply enduring, and in doing so you’ll be developing the strength you need to deal with future problems.

P.S. Does anyone else have invisible veins? What do you say to medical professionals to help them

Leave a Reply

