At least you don’t have cancer…

Posted: June 1, 2012 in Survival Strategy
Tags: , , , , , , ,
Weight Loss Progress

Weight Loss Progress (Photo credit: Lexinatrix)

It could be worse. That’s what people say. Sure, you’re experiencing unrelenting nausea that’s more painful than food poisoning and the stomach flu combined. Sure, you can’t drink any liquids or eat any food without having it come back up. But hey, you could have leprosy, or shingles, or even cancer, right? Yes, it could be worse. But for some reason, knowing that things could be worse doesn’t always help us feel better, does it?

When you hear that, and you will hear it often, it’s okay to bristle inside. One of the most hurtful things I heard when I had hg was how great it would be after I had the baby because I wouldn’t have to worry about losing weight. No matter that I was losing two to five pounds a week, was terrified that my baby wasn’t getting nourished and felt that I was going to die– I should be happy because I was losing weight and hey, it could be worse!

Here’s what to do when you hear that phrase: allow yourself to feel upset for a moment or two. Then, do the best you can to turn your energy in another direction. Stressing about how people don’t understand what you’re going through won’t affect anyone but yourself. Give a tiny nod of acknowledgment toward the person who said “it could be worse, at least you don’t have (fill in the blank)” because s/he is probably trying to make you feel better. And then move on. Dwelling on things like this won’t help you feel better.

P.S. What things are the people in your life saying to encourage you? Share how you feel by posting a comment below.

 

Comments
  1. sanjapanja says:

    I have gotten the comment about how great it must have been to lose weight while pregnant so many times and when they say it, I just think to myself that they REALLY don’t get what I went through.

    Great post!

Leave a Reply

