Feelin’ blue

Posted: June 7, 2012 in Survival Strategy

This isn’t the way it was supposed to be. You were supposed to glow, to shine, and to have a pregnancy filled with little moments of joy. Instead, you’re on your knees in front of the toilet most of the day, wishing that you could delivery the baby six months early.

It all comes down to expectations sometimes, and an hg pregnancy is no exception. So how do you deal with the overwhelming sorrow that comes with having a less-than happy (and healthy) pregnancy?

Step one: Look at the good in your life. Look at what you do have right now- a child that’s safe and probably pretty healthy (remember, most hg babies are very healthy). What else do you have? Make a list.

Step two: Accept the situation. I don’t mean that you should stop hoping things get better or that you should avoid trying to find medical solutions that might help. I mean that you should accept that you’re sick, and that your pregnancy isn’t going to be what you had hoped it would be. That’s okay. It may not be happy, but it will be okay.

Step three: Fight. When you feel the sadness descend, reach toward something positive. Don’t allow yourself to fall down into the cliched, but very real, pit of despair. Fight hard. Feeling blue won’t make your nausea go away.

What do you do to fight the blues? Help out others by posting a comment below.

Comments
  1. Stacie says:

    Thank you for this blog post 🙂 I read things like this or go to my baby center and Facebook hyperemisis groups for emotional support. If I’m feeling down, I can usually look at my 4 year old son, really look at him and he will put a smile on my face and I realize this is why I’m going through this again.

  2. hgsurvivor says:

    That’s a great strategy, Stacie! I was on babycenter and facebook hg pages all of the time while I was pregnant. Just knowing someone understands what I was going through made all the difference in the world!

Leave a Reply

