We’re thinking about trying again. In spite of the suffering hyperemesis gravidarum– or, extreme morning sickness– caused. In spite of the long-term disability. In spite of the medical bills.

Of course, few understand. My friends and family throw out phrases like “you never know, maybe this time you won’t be sick at all!” Yet, all the studies I’ve read indicate that I have a high likelihood of contracting one of the most debilitating and miserable condition known to pregant women: hyperemeis gravidarum.

Even writing about this makes me sick to my stomach. My ob said she cannot guarentee I won’t get sick again. So why? Why would anyone think about subjecting their body and mind to months of endless nausea, vomitting, er visits, and medicinal cocktails that seldom offer any relief?

The answer is simple: love. I love my son. And I’d love to have another child. My husband feels the same way. And I will not let nine months of misery stop me from having another child.

Albert Einstein said that “One cannot simultaneously prevent and prepare for war.” He’s right. I’m trying to focus my mind away from the dream that I won’t get sick and toward the best way I can prepare for that eventuality. Getting in shape, eating nutrient-rich foods… and learning more about drugs. My ob is optimistic that Diclegis may help. I’m doubtful that this mixture of Unisom and Vitamin B6 will work, yet its status as a class A drug motivates me to try. Last time, I was a Zofran junkie with a medicine pump that did nothing to alleviate the vomitting but did cause big red blisters and irritate my skin. I blew most IVs and often threw up water. Phenergan provided a little relief, but mostly made me sleep. I’ve read all about the studies of Dr. Guttuso at the University of Buffalo but am not tempted to risk the life of my future little one on a class C drug. not yet approved by the FDA for use in pregnant women.

So what’s a girl to do?

Here’s my plan: prepare as best I can (I’m sure I’ll write a new post about that later), dig my heels in, and fight through every moan, heave, and vomit session. I’m preparing for battle, dear sisters in suffering, and am going to use every weapon in my arsenal. I’m gathering my troops (family, co-workers, friends, doctors, internet pals), I’m conditioning my body, I’m preparing my mind. And when the HG comes, I’ll be ready.

Has anyone experienced HG in a subsequent pregancy? What did you do to prepare? Help others by posting a comment below.

Comments
  1. Heather Badger Smith says:

    My dear friend. We all have different battles to suffer through for the love of our children. I am confident that you will choose the right path for you and your family. We too are in a battle of sorts right now dealing with the expansion of of family. Different circumstances, same uphill battle. Love of your family, your remarkable inner strength, and your reliance of God will see you through this. God bless!

  2. Kellee says:

    I feel for you sister. I am pregnant with HG baby #3. What I did to prepare for this pregnancy is find an OB that is proactive about HG (meds, home health services, infusion therapy, etc.). I informed several close family members that we were trying and asked if they would be willing to help when the time came (I asked them if they would be willing and able to come over one day a week to care for my 2 kids). I reminded my husband how hard this is and the things I cared most about him doing while I couldn’t. And I cleaned my room thoroughly because I knew those were the four walls I was going to be staring at all day. Once I was pregnant I asked church members and neighbors if they could help, they had my kids over for play dates and provided several meals for my family. In other words I had a lot of help and I am so thankful for all the amazing people in my life. However, if I lived somewhere else where I didn’t have family and close friends we would have hired someone.

    You can do it and you will be so blessed for it.

  3. Iman says:

    I did experienced and lived the full misery with my 2 pregnancies, I actually had it stronger and more aggressive on my 2nd compared to number 1, it also triggered gallstones and after the the delivery i had tge surgery to remove the gallblader but complications happened and i bled ljke crazy , I was diagnosed with a very rare type of bleeding disorder “/ autoimmune disorder calls “postpartum acquired hemophilia” haha I know you might be reading this and not believing it, yes I had all sort of complications a mom can have during pregnancy and after giving birth , my daughter is 8 months today and I am still in steroids to treat the bleeding disorder issue , hopefully will snap out of it soon so I can enjoy my 2 kids, I went through real hell because of pregnancies but I am so in love with my kids and they worths every pain I felt, I am not regretting anything. Please wish me luck with my treatment

    A trooper mom of 2 :))

  4. Oh yes. I blogged about it too on http://knockedupknockedover.com. I also included, in the tabs at the top of my page, my protocol. You may find that helpful.

    The HG was worse the second time. I can’t lie to you about that. It was brutal. I nearly died. But I knew what was coming and I had prepared for it physically and mentally as much as you can.

    Word of warning: diclectin was a joke for me. Didn’t work at all. I ended up on very, very high doses of zofran via the pump. I was taking 39 mg per day. Along with meclazine, Benadryl, and IVS followed by PICC lines.

    Have a plan, then have a plan for when that plan starts to fail, and a plan for when that one starts to fail. Prepare for worst case scenario, which for me was TPN. Thankfully it didn’t go all the way to that.

    • hgsurvivor says:

      Thanks for sharing. I am a little skeptical about Digclegis, but will give it a try. I really like your blog; maybe we should have an HG writer’s meet up someday!

  5. Also, be use to pick up a copy of Mama has Hyperemesis Gravidarum. A children’s book to help little ones cope with what they are seeing. Really helps with the trauma of it all for them. You can get it on Amazon or for free on the author’s website.

    Plan on counseling afterwards to help you heal from the trauma of being so sick also.

  6. tempsmomma says:

    My daughter is 7 months old, and i am six weeks pregnant. I swore never again months before my childs birth. I was too sick. It was miserable. No one understood that i couldnt just eat a cracker or bagel and drink some OJ and be fine! I dreamed about the day i would be able to eat without an IV sticking out of my hand. Well, despite precautions taken, 2 weeks ago it is confirmed, i am pregnant again. HG confirmed a whole week ago. But this time i dont have just my self to take care of. Its already feeling like an impossible fight.

    • hgsurvivor says:

      Tempsmomma, I am so sorry you’re struggling. I can’t say I understand because I didn’t have a little one with my first bout of hg. Fight against the guilt, sadness, and misery. This will pass. Dear readers— any words of encouragement for this brave hg momma?

    • candy says:

      hi mommy. I feel you. I’m suffering from excessive vomiting now. I couldn’t eat. Everytime I do, The food can’t just stay long.I have to vomit.Now, I’m salivating more than usual. It’s uncontrollable. I’m losing weight and I’m afraid that I’ll get hospitalized but I’m trying hard to be strong and still eat. Hope to get over this stage mommies.Praying for all of us!

  7. Morgan says:

    Nothing can prepare you for HG. I suffered for 20 weeks on my little girl and I’m about 6 weeks pregnant again and have been bed ridden for 2 weeks and was admitted to hospital Friday, its horrendous I feel like I’m dying 😦 I feel like a horrible mother not being to do anything at all even showering is a huge effort. Good luck! like I said nothing can prepare you but a good support network is the key!!

  8. Kian says:

    It’s hard to find your page in google. I found it on 16 spot,
    you should build quality backlinks , it will help you to
    increase traffic. I know how to help you, just search in google – k2 seo tricks

  9. Sebastian says:

    I read a lot of interesting content here. Probably you spend a lot of
    time writing, i know how to save you a lot of time, there is an online tool that creates readable, google friendly articles in minutes, just type in google – laranitas free content source

  10. I recently found out I was pregnant with my 2nd babe (surprise!!) and I felt terrified. HG nearly killed me last time and I was not ready to go through it again, BUT after a week of wallowing in self pity, I decided to fight!! We decided to hunker down and “storm prep” if you will. Make meals, snacks, have emergency people on call, etc.

  11. Carolyn says:

    I’m on my 4th HG baby. Each one is worse than the last and I know the HG will settle in any day now (I’m only 5 weeks). I cried when I found out because my last pregnancy was so bad I wasn’t planning on having anymore. However, it is what it is and I’ve mustered up a plan. I’m bulking up on paper plates, bowls, cups and plastic utensils so my husband has less dishes. I’m having a frozen meal party this Saturday where everyone makes several pans of one meal and we all assemble any leftover pieces upon arrival and then trade. Many women agreed to leave their share with me so that I can bulk up. I figure 3 meals a week for 16 weeks should keep my family alive as I die. I was also recently told about essential oils. You know how people who have no idea what HG is like tell you to just eat a peppermint or drink some ginger tea but those, like everything else, just make you vomit? They suggested putting the essential oil of ginger or peppermint on your skin. I have my doubts but am willing to try ANYTHING. I’m also bulking up on those super cheap plastic party tablecloths to cut down on chores. I made a list of those willing to watch my kids for an hour of two with little notice for when they’re dying of boredom or what not. I’m accumulating a wide variety of high protein snacks to put in baskets by anywhere I may lay down to momentarily perish in case the rare and unlikely urge to eat hits me so I can get a boost. I’ve explained to my oldest (6) what’s going to happen and started training her on chores she can do to help me when I’m sick.
    I’m definitely not mentally ready for this, and I’m really scared since every pregnancy has been worse and I really have no idea how it could be worse than last time. A tip for dealing with HG – we’re going to throw up, it’s inevitable, but I’ve found that if I carry around a water bottle and chug the crap out of it when I feel like I’m about to vomit, I only throw up the water. It helped me stop dry heaving and throwing up stomach acid, and it reduced the strain on my throat because it was cool from having just gone down. If I have to throw up, it’s the best way to do it. Also, if you’ve just eaten, it thins out the horribleness of freshly eaten food. Also, avoid lettuce. There is nothing worse than throwing up lettuce…at least for me.
    In the end, good luck, and don’t be afraid to ask for help, I’m sure you’ll have the chance to return it someday!

  12. neets says:

    Hi i was wondering if you would be willing to share ..on how did the pregnancy go ? i am in a simillar state

  13. Chrissy says:

    This is my second time struggling with hyperemesis and it’s no easier with a toddler let me tell you. Lots of sleepovers for her and lots of vomiting and hospital visits for me. My husband and I are so excited for our little baby to arrive despite the HG.

  14. College mom says:

    I am pregnant for a second time with my first baby. I had HG the first time and it was so bad I had to terminate my pregnancy. I am now 8 weeks pregnant and again I have HG it is literally death. My blood vessels in my throat have exploded due to the excessive vomiting. This made me throw up blood and lose the ability to even speak. I have so much saliva now and it’s disgusting. I can’t even stomach to swallow it. HG is a battle that I am praying goes away by 3-4 months. I miss classes and work. I have been hospitalized multiple times already and I just miss the days when I could eat or drink something without a care in the world. I’ve tried the meds and they offer very little relief. I also do not want to use drugs that can harm my baby. One thing that kinda eases the suffering is motion sickness wristbands. They do not eliminate the symptoms but they do reduce them. Which is better than nothing.

  15. uadrme2 says:

    I also am on my third child and each one had HG. My second kid is nine months old. I am depressed, sick and tired. I have to work bcz we need it financially as a family. I dont feel like my husband completely understands even though he claims he does. He says well go to the hospital, but half the time i dont want to move. I force myself at work amd when i get off i want to lie down. Im dehydrated and weak. Im 19 wks and havent felt the baby move in two weeks… I wish this was all over

Leave a Reply

